Event: Thai Mother’s Day 12 August 2015 | สุขสันต์วันแม่แห่งชาติ ๑๒ สิงหาคม 2558

It’s  Thai Mother’s Day!!!! and on  this very special occasion, I wanted to surprise my mum so I took the liberty of making her something a little special; Khao Soy Chiang Mai Style (ข้าวซอยเชียงใหม่) she has never tried before, but I do hope she will like it! 😀

Thai Mother’s Day; its a day where we go back to our parents pay them respect and Thai tradition has this, foot washing ceremony, as a form of showing respect, seek forgiveness from our parents for whatever acts we might have done or caused them to be upset i.e. talk back to them, arguing with them or secretly harbour bad thoughts, criticism or disagreement with our parents, simply put; just us kids, show that we are grateful to have what we have today if it weren’t for them and how much we are sorry if we have caused  them any upset. Thai culture has this really strong family value or family oriented which I am very proud of. I love you mum!

I got up really early and went to fresh market to pick out the fresh ingredients for Khao Soy, flowers and garland for Foot Washing Ceremony.

Foot Washing Flower Water

I managed to get Orchids, Jasmine Garland, Kafir Lime, Tumeric and Rose water; these are the stuff I chuck them all into the warm water where I’m using it to wash my mum’s foot.

As you can see below, I added  thinly slice, kafir lime zest 3-4 slices and turmeric just about 2-3  slices then top it off  with rose water and orchids. New clean piece of towel use to wipe off her feet later and that’s about  it. After washing mums foot I can then hand her the jasmine garland.

Khao Soy Chiang Mai Style (ข้าวซอยไก่เชียงใหม่)

I went online google for the recipe from this website Khao Soy Gai Lanna Food I know that my culinary skill for Thai food is a work in progress and I am very intrigue by all these amazing fresh ingredients, herbs and spices, how they mixed and mashed so well. My aunt told me this “Thai food required a lot of skills” and I couldn’t help but giggle off politely. If I’m honest, you just have to cook your food with passion, you have to add love into everything that you have got in front of you to produce the best result –  you gotta love what you do.

I followed everything that mentioned on the website; so let’s get cracking!

Ingredient:

  • Chicken Drumstick     1 1/2 KG
  • Khao Soi noodle (Chinese Yellow egg noodle)  1 1/2 KG
  • Vegetable oil      1 cup
  • Coconut milk      4-5 cup

A) Ingredient for Chili Paste:

  • Dried Chili – I like a wee bit of spice so I will use about    20 good amount
  • Garlic –  I used about 4 big o cloves
  • Shallot  – I used about a handful Appx 15 as I believe in good chili paste leads to very happy taste!
  • Kafir Lime Zest      Just 1 Good piece would do
  • Fingerroot             8 pcs
  • Turmeric            3-4 pcs
  • Lemon Grass       5 pcs (finely chopped)
  • Palm Sugar           2-3 tbspn. (Add later part of cooking)
  • Shrimp Paste         3 tbspn
  • Curry Powder         1-2 tbspn (I used Baba’s Curry Powder) (you can add later during the cooking or whilst blending the paste)

Side Condiment & Vegetables:

    • Chili Oil
    • Pickled (Mustard Green Cabbage gives a bit of sour-ish and salty-ish)
    • Sliced Shallot
    • Lime
    • Fish Sauce
    • Chopped Coriander and Spring onions

Let’s  get the bad boy (A) into the pounder (ครก or Krok), I personally prefer to pound all the ingredient for the paste rather than using the pounder or krok because it gives better taste and aroma to the food. Well this time I am doing it a lot and my mum was very kind enough to help me with the paste by user the blender instead of pounding it off for me. Basically, I whacked everything mentioned in (A) into the blender and let mum had a good blend with it for about 2 mins before she handed the paste to me so I can proceed to the next step.

Now moving on to stir fried the chili paste that we just made;

Over medium high heat, hot wok ready for me coconut milk to be shove in. In 1 cup of coconut milk and fry it, keep on stirring it  continuously until it gives out scented aroma and separate out. Chuck the paste and fry, stir continuously until again it gives off aromatic smell of all the ingredients you can then throw in the chicken drumsticks, then follow by a wee bit of water, stir it for a bit, then in a while add the remaining coconut milk/cream. Let it rest for a wee bit, let it boils then add palm sugar, add in white or brown sugar if you would like, add fish sauce a bit or salt whichever you prefer – That’s about it and let rest.

How to make Crispy egg noodles:

  • Heat the oil for frying the egg noodles in a wok over medium heat
  • Add egg noodles and fry until crispy and just lightly brown (30 seconds)
  • Strain and set aside.

How to make Chili Oil:

  • Over hot saucepan, small amount of oil (about 3/4 cup)
  • Once hot add the chili powder then stir together and remove from the heat and set aside to cool

How to prepare Egg Noodles:

  • Add Egg Noodles into boiling water to cover, for about 2-3  minutes
  • Drain, whilst I do that, I sprinkled a bit of lard oil you can also use olive oil or sesame oil before portion noodles

On the side note fresh Chinese Egg Noodles can be found at your local market or you can substitute dried western style flat egg noodles 😀

Once you are ready to eat – below is the  bowl filled with noodles and top the curry, you can add all the accompaniment, then top it off with crispy noodle and add whatever you like 😀

Voila! I am very pleased with my Khao Soy and I am very impressed that my mum actually liked it very much! 😀 we ate together at my aunt’s  place and we had a blast talking about it then my mum departed to go to work.

I have no clue how to make but honestly I love giving it a try and I am very very proud of myself for doing it! Practice makes perfect!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mothers in the world!

Love and Light xoxo

Leave a Reply

